Categorized | Featured, National News

Senate Appointments Complete

Senate 10

The upper chamber now has its full complement of senators following the final installment of 10 senators Monday afternoon.

Former Senate President and attorney Sharon Wilson, business consultant Joseph Curry and attorney Cheryl Bazard round out the final senator appointments.

The newly appointed senators received their instruments of appointment during a brief ceremony at Government House.

Giving brief remarks during the official ceremony, Prime Minister Perry Christie congratulated the group of senators on their achievement.

“It gives me great pleasure to extend my personal congratulations to each of the 10 new senators who have received their instruments of appointment today and who have accordingly joined the senators previously appointed to my cabinet a short time ago,” he said.

The trio joined the seven others whose appointments were announced last Thursday.

That group includes Frank Smith, Gregory Burrows, Jerome Gomez, Julian Russell, Gary Sawyer, Alex Storr and Tanisha Tynes.

The government’s remaining two senators, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs Allyson Maynard-Gibson and Minister of State for National Security Keith Bell received their instruments of appointment two weeks ago.

Mr. Christie said he is pleased that the senators not only represent the best in New Providence, but also showcase “the best from Grand Bahama and Abaco as well.”

The prime minister said he is impressed with the variety of ages represented in the upper chamber.

“This newness, seasoned with tried and tested experience, bodes well for the generational change that is well underway in the political atmosphere of our country. It is so refreshing to see so many new persons stepping forward to play their part in the governance of our country. This replenishment of the blood supply in politics is what helps to maintain the robust health of our democracy,” Mr. Christie said.

“Now that the Parliament of The Bahamas is fully constituted, we all look forward to the opening of parliament within a few days. There is a great deal of work ahead of us; I am sure, therefore, that all senators have put themselves in a state of full readiness to play their part in the further building of our beloved nation.”

Desmond Bannister, Zhivargo Laing, Kwasi Thompson and Heather Hunt make up the Opposition’s team in the Senate.

Written by Jones Bahamas

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Watch JCN Channel 14 Shows

Jcn Channel 14

Sign in now to see your channels and recommendations!

Join Us on Facebook