Categorized | National News

Bahamas Elected To ITU Council

The Bahamas became successful in its first bid for a seat on the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Council, after securing a vote from 162 states out of 177 states present and voting. 

The election to Council took place during the second week of the ITU’s Plenipotentiary (PP) Conference, in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.  The ITU PP is the supreme organ of the ITU at which the ITU’s 193 member states meet once every four years to elect the ITU’s top executive officials and the 48 member states that will make up the Council. 

  The Bahamas’ ballot was cast by members of The Bahamas’ Delegation to the ITU PP, led by Parliamentary Secretary in the Office of The Prime Minister,  Pakesia Parker Edgecombe.

When the new session of the Council of the International Telecommunications Union meets to begin its work for the next four years, The Bahamas will be seated as one of the Council’s 48 member states.  

Mrs. Parker Edgecombe during the conference also presented the Bahamas Policy Statement on ICT. 

She outlined the government’s accomplishments in ICTs and shared proposed plans for the further development this sector. 

During her statement she told more than 1500 delegates from more than 170 countries, that the Government of The Bahamas has introduced a “Community Development Partnership Initiative” which aims to strengthen the use of smart technology in public institutions by facilitating increased access to broadband, develop apps and websites to assist in the dissemination of critical information to the public which will include a  national alert messaging system to be used during national disasters, and facilitate greater public online communication access through the establishment of strategic WIFI hotspots throughout the country. 

The International Telecommunications Union is the United Nations Agency which specializes in Information Communication Technologies, ICTs.  It promotes innovation, accessibility and inclusion by setting rules and regulations

The Bahamas will represent Region A, the Americas, along with Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, El Salvador, Mexico, Paraguay and the United States.

Written by Jones Bahamas

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Watch JCN Channel 14 Shows

Jcn Channel 14

Sign in now to see your channels and recommendations!

Join Us on Facebook