Categorized | National News

Airport Authority Celebrates 15 New Graduates as Airport Security Officers

Fifteen new Aviation Security Officers and Passenger Screeners have successfully met the “Post-September 11th” international requirements that are designed to protect travelers, moving within the nation’s borders and throughout a chain of Bahamian airports.

“A safe airport environment is the economic lifeblood of an archipelagic nation, such as The Bahamas. Our numerous airports and ports of entry require that we not only secure these facilities, but also that our citizens and visitors arrive and depart from safe airports,” said Lorraine Armbrister, permanent secretary of the Ministry of Transport and Aviation.

“Over the years, the regulatory framework and the security requirements for airports have changed. In some cases, the security regimes which you now follow, they have no resemblance to that which was experienced even 20 years ago.”

On April 24, the Ministry of Transport and Aviation and the Airport Authority attended a graduation ceremony to congratulate and recognize the 2015 graduates at the New Providence Community Centre on Blake Road.

“As the threat and the nature of threats to civil aviation have evolved, so have the duties, required levels of training, and expertise of security screeners. Today, you are exposed to the most advanced, cutting-edge, security technology that money can buy because it is important that we safeguard our nation and its citizens. Additionally, we must do our part in complying with our international obligations,” said Mrs. Armbrister.

The 2015 graduates found an amusing way to laugh at the vulnerability of the Caribbean’s intimate cultural flaws, regarding identity and entitlement, as they performed a skit called “No Access”. In the skit, the actors depicted and acted out an all-too-familiar airport security scenario, of when a local traveler forgets his I.D.

Members of the graduation class, recognized were: Shavon Arthur, Krishna Campbell, Raquel Carroll, Tarnario Cooper, Neco Ferguson, Anthony Forbes, Mikhilo Forbes, Samuel Fox, Ricardo Knowles, Angelo Lamm, Andrew Pennerman, Derrick Williams, Jarrod Williams, Kassim Williams, and Kish Williams.

Written by Jones Bahamas

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Watch JCN Channel 14 Shows

Jcn Channel 14

Sign in now to see your channels and recommendations!

Join Us on Facebook